HOW DOES THE PRODUCTION OF AN EXPLANATORY VIDEO WORK?

This text is about an animated 2D explanatory video, as this format is by far the most popular. After each production step there is a fixed number of correction phases. The basic breakdown of an explanatory video production is as follows:

 

  1. Consulting and briefing
  2. Definition of objectives and target groups
  3. Concept and styleframes 
  4. Storyboard and, if necessary, speaker's text
  5. Umsetzung  der Animation und des Motion Designs
  6. Voiceover and sound recording
  7. Delivery of the relevant data

Frame from the explanation video Infinity 236

Consulting and briefing

At the beginning of each project is a conversation with the customer. Essential questions are clarified. Who is the video for? What defines this target group? Is the video rather watched on laptops or smartphones? Should the video also be used at trade exhibitions? And much more. Research in advance is extremely important. It must be determined exactly who is watching the film and where. A clear message must also be formulated. Furthermore, the customer must be aware of what he wants to achieve with the video. Only when these questions have been clarified can a precisely communicating explanatory film be created. However, general conditions such as the budget and the production schedule must also be defined.

Definition of objectives and target groups

The target group identified in the briefing is further analysed by me: how much prior knowledge does the target group have? How old is the majority of the target group? What does the target group like? Research is also done on the competition. How can you stand out? These are questions that determine the success of the project.

Concept and styleframes

Example of a style frame

On the basis of the collected information I develop a concept in text form. In addition to the text concept, so-called styleframes are created. Styleframes are images that represent the visual design of the film. With the text concept and styleframe the customer can get an impression of how the film will look and function in the end. Why not create a storyboard right away? If the customer already has a very precise idea of the film, both on a conceptual and visual level, this step can also be skipped. The latter is the case, for example, if it is a continuation of a video series and accordingly a large part of the design questions have already been answered. However, since this step does not require additional time and therefore does not incur any additional costs, I recommend it in most cases. Just imagine I create a concept and a whole storyboard that goes in the wrong direction. Then the storyboard creation has to start all over again, which would cause additional costs. If the text is not supplied by the client, first draft texts are also presented.

Storyboard and, if necessary, speaker's text

Once the customer is satisfied with the concept and the styleframes, work on the storyboard begins. A storyboard contains the most important scenes of the film as illustrations. In addition, narration text, scene descriptions and, if necessary, comments are collected. Speech samples are also sent to the client and the planning of the voice recordings is started.  

Why not start animation immediately? The answer is simple. Changes in the storyboard can still be implemented relatively quickly. Changes to already animated films are often very time-consuming and drive up costs. Therefore a well elaborated storyboard is important to get a good impression of the film before the animation. You will surely already recognize a pattern here. The later in the production process, the more difficult it is to implement changes. That doesn't mean, however, that changes at the end of the project are no longer possible. Almost everything can be changed at any time during the production (this does not apply to real film!). It can happen, however, that very late essential changes are associated with additional costs.

Animation and motion design

As soon as the customer has approved the storyboard, the animation starts. With the text concept and styleframe the customer can get an impression of how the film will look and function in the end. Why not create a storyboard right away? If the customer already has a very precise idea of the film, both on a conceptual and visual level, this step can also be dispensed with. The latter is the case, for example, if it is a continuation of a video series and accordingly a large part of the design questions have already been answered. However, since this step does not require additional time and therefore does not incur any additional costs, I recommend it in most cases. Just imagine I create a concept and a whole storyboard that goes in the wrong direction. Then the storyboard creation has to start all over again, which would cause additional costs. If the text is not supplied by the client, first draft texts are also presented.

Voiceover and sound recording

Last but not least, the movie gets sound effects and music. Whether music is composed or music is bought on the Internet is entirely up to the customer and his budget. I can gladly accompany you during this decision process. Here the cost-benefit ratio should be weighed up and it should be checked how important it is for the film as a whole. The voiceover artist chosen by the customer has now delivered the voice recordings. These will be placed underneath the video and final adjustments will be made if necessary.

Delivery of the relevant data

As soon as all parties involved are satisfied with the film, the relevant data is transferred to the customer. Which data this is, has to be clarified in advance. If the customer wants to have the open files, this must be discussed in advance, as it will lead to additional costs. In Germany, by law, designers sell royalties for the designs they create and not the open files themselves. Rights of use can be a very complex and complicated issue. They can be limited, for example, by place or time. Since the majority of the films I produce are also shown on the Internet, I have decided to sell the rights of use without restrictions. The latter is also marked on the offer and invoice.

CONVINCED?
THEN CONTACT ME.

I will be happy to advise you and we will find the right way to communicate your content in a focused and efficient way. No matter if it is an explanatory film, image film or product video.

+49 176 4011 4893

info@christofgoers.de

6 + 3 =

Christof Görs
Motion & Communi­cation

Stargarder Str. 10
10437 Berlin

info@christofgoers.de
+49 176 4011 4893

Styles:
Graphical
Isometric
Flat style
Live-action film
White board
Pixel art
Hand drawn

Friends
Miriam Barton
Ole Sturm
Konstantin Reinhart
Andreas Melcher

Areas of use
Explanatory video
Explanatory film
E-Learning
Image film
Product video
Recruiting video
Advertising film
Music video
Social media video
App video
Exhibition film
Internal communication

Wie läuft die Produktion eines Erklärvideos ab?

In diesem Text geht es um einen animierten 2D Erklärfilm, da dieses Format mit Abstand das Beliebteste ist. Nach jedem Produktionsschritt gibt es eine festgelegte Anzahl an Korrekturphasen. Die grundsätzliche Aufteilung einer Erklärvideo-Produktion sieht bei mir wie folgt aus:

 

  1. Beratung und Briefing
  2. Definition der Zielsetzung und Zielgruppen
  3. Konzept und Styleframes 
  4. Storyboard und ggf. Sprechertext
  5. Umsetzung  der Animation und des Motion Designs
  6. Sprecher und Vertonung
  7. Lieferung der relevanten Daten

Stil aus dem Erklärvideo Infinity 236

Beratung und Briefing

Am Anfang jedes Auftrags steht das Gespräch mit dem Kunden. Es werden essentielle Fragen geklärt. Für wen ist das Video? Was macht diese Zielgruppe aus? Wird das Video eher auf Laptops oder auf Smartphones geschaut? Soll das Video auch auf Messen verwendet werden? Und noch vieles weitere. Die Recherche im Vorhinein ist extrem wichtig. Es muss genau bestimmt werden, wer sich den Film wo anschaut. Auch eine klare Botschaft muss herausgearbeitet werden. Weiterhin muss der Kunde sich darüber klar werden, was er mit dem Video erreichen will. Erst wenn diese Fragen geklärt sind, kann ein punktgenau kommunizierender Erklärfilm entstehen. Es müssen allerdings auch Rahmenbedingungen wie das Budget und der Bearbeitungszeitraum festgelegt werden.

Definition der Zielsetzung und Zielgruppen

Die im Briefing ausgemachte Zielgruppe wird von mir weiter analysiert: wieviel Vorwissen hat die Zielgruppe? Wie alt ist der Großteil der Zielgruppe? Was mag die Zielgruppe? Auch wird eine Recherche zur Konkurrenz gemacht. Was macht diese gut? Was kann man besser machen? Wie kann man sich von ihr abheben? Das sind Fragen, die über den Erfolg des Projektes entscheiden.

Konzept und Styleframes

Beispiel eines Styleframes

Anhand der gesammelten Informationen wird von mir ein Konzept in Textform entwickelt. Zusätzlich zu dem Textkonzept werden sogenannte Styleframes erstellt. Styleframes sind Bilder, die die visuelle Gestaltung des Films darstellen. Mit dem Textkonzept und Styleframe kann sich der Kunde einen Eindruck davon machen, wie der Film am Ende aussehen und funktionieren wird. Warum wird nicht gleich ein Storyboard erstellt? Sofern der Kunde schon eine ganz genaue Vorstellung von dem Film, sowohl auf konzeptioneller als auch visueller Ebene hat, kann auf diesen Schritt ebenfalls verzichtet werden. Letzteres ist z. B. der Fall, wenn es eine Fortführung einer Videoserie ist und dementsprechend ein Großteil der Gestaltungsfragen schon beantwortet ist. Da dieser Schritt allerdings keine zusätzliche Zeit erfordert und deshalb auch keine zusätzlichen Kosten entstehen, empfehle ich ihn in den meisten Fällen. Stellen Sie sich nur vor, ich erstelle ein Konzept und ein gesamtes Storyboard, das in die falsche Richtung geht. Dann muss die Storyboard-Erstellung nochmal von vorne beginnen, was zusätzliche Kosten verursachen würde. Falls der Text nicht vom Kunden geliefert wird, werden auch erste Textentwürfe vorgestellt.

Storyboard und ggf. Sprechertext

Ist der Kunde mit dem Konzept und den Styleframes zufrieden, beginnt die Arbeit am Storyboard. Ein Storyboard beinhaltet die wichtigsten Szenen des Films als Stils (noch nicht animierte Bilder des Films). Des Weiteren werden Sprechertext, Szenenbeschreibungen und ggf. Anmerkungen gesammelt. Auch Sprechproben werden dem Kunden zugesandt und es wird mit der Planung der Sprachaufnahmen begonnen.  

Warum wird nicht sofort mit der Animation begonnen? Die Antwort ist einfach. Änderungen im Storyboard sind noch relativ schnell umsetzbar. Änderungen an bereits animierten Filmen sind oft sehr zeitaufwendig und treiben die Kosten in die Höhe. Deshalb ist ein gut ausgearbeitetes Storyboard wichtig, um bereits vor der Animation einen guten Eindruck von dem Film zu erhalten. Sie erkennen hier sicherlich schon ein Muster. Umso später in der Produktion große Änderungswünsche kommen, umso schwieriger sind diese umzusetzen. Das heißt allerdings nicht, dass Änderungen zum Ende des Projektes nicht mehr umsetzbar sind. So gut wie alles kann zu jedem Zeitpunkt der Produktion geändert werden (das gilt nicht für Realfilm!). Es kann allerdings passieren, dass sehr späte essentielle Änderungen mit zusätzlichen Kosten verbunden sind.

Umsetzung der Animation und des Motion Designs

Sobald der Kunde das Storyboard freigeben hat, geht es in die Animation. Bei besonders aufwendigen Projekten kann es ratsam sein vor der eigentlichen Animation ein Animatic zu erstellen. Ein Animatic ist eine sehr rohe Animation des Materials, teils auch mit Platzhaltern, um vor der Animation einen noch detaillierteren Eindruck zu erhalten. In den meisten Fällen ist Letzteres allerdings nicht nötig. Ist der Sprechertext schon vorhanden, wird direkt darauf animiert. Falls der Sprechertext noch nicht finalisiert ist, kann auch mit einer vorläufigen Aufnahme gearbeitet werden. Infolgedessen erhält der Kunde einen fast fertigen Film für das Feedback.

Sprecher und Vertonung

Zu guter Letzt erhält der Film noch kleine Soundeffekte und Musik. Ob extra Musik komponiert wird oder eine Musik im Internet gekauft wird, liegt ganz beim Kunden und dessen Budget. Ich kann Sie bei diesem Entscheidungsprozess gerne begleiten. Hier sollte das Kosten-Nutzen-Verhältnis abgewägt und geschaut werden, wie wichtig es für den Film im Gesamten ist. Der vom Kunden ausgesuchte Sprecher hat mittlerweile die Sprachaufnahmen geliefert. Diese werden unter das Video gelegt und ggf. letzte Anpassungen gemacht.

Lieferung der relevanten Daten

Sobald alle Beteiligten mit dem Film zufrieden sind, werden die relevanten Daten an den Kunden übergeben. Welche Daten das sind, muss im Vorhinein geklärt werden. Will der Kunde die offenen Daten haben, muss dies im Vorfeld besprochen werden, da es zu zusätzlichen Kosten führt. In Deutschland verkauft der Designer per Gesetz Nutzungsgebühren für die von ihm erstellten Designs und nicht die offenen Daten an sich. Nutzungsrechte können ein sehr komplexes und kompliziertes Thema sein. Diese können z. B. nach Ort oder Zeit eingeschränkt werden. Da der Großteil der Filme, die ich produziere auch im Internet gezeigt wird, habe ich mich entschlossen, die Nutzungsrechte grundsätzlich uneingeschränkt zu verkaufen. Letzteres wird auch auf Angebot und Rechnung gekennzeichnet.

Überzeugt?
Dann kontaktieren Sie mich.

Ich berate Sie gerne und wir finden den richtigen Weg Ihre Inhalte gezielt und effizient zu kommunizieren. Egal ob Erklärfilm, Imagefilm oder Produktvideo.

+49 176 4011 4893

info@christofgoers.de

4 + 14 =

Christof Görs
Motion & Communi­cation

Stargarder Str. 10
10437 Berlin

info@christofgoers.de
+49 176 4011 4893

Stile:
Grafisch
Isometrisch
Flat Style
Realfilm
White Board
Pixel Art
Handgezeichnet

Freunde
Miriam Barton
Ole Sturm
Konstantin Reinhart
Andreas Melcher

Einsatzgebiete
Erklärvideo
Erklärfilm
E-Learning
Imagefilm
Produktvideo
Recruiting Video
Werbefilm
Musikvideo
Social Media Video
App Video
Messefilm
Interne Kommunikation